How to edit a file for CICS?

Customer Information Control System. Middleware and MQ Series.
Anil
Registered Member

How to edit a file for CICS?

Post by Anil »

Hi,

I am new to CICS. I learned that files are defined to CICS region and they are already defined when the system was built. So if I need to change the values in file or edit the existing file how do we do that?
Thanks,
Anil
nicc
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: How to edit a file for CICS?

Post by nicc »

For a start they are data sets not files. They are updated as any other data set is - by programs written to do that either via a batch program or an online program.
Regards
Nic
Anil
Registered Member

Post by Anil »

Yes but I need to edit it manually then how do I do it?
Thanks,
Anil
nicc
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Post by nicc »

You don't - unless you want to be fired! If it is a test data sets then, when it is not allocated to CICS, use ISPF as normal.
Regards
Nic
Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
United States of America

Post by Robert Sample »

First, it would be a very rare site that allows a programmer to manually edit a production data set -- auditors really do not like such things happening.

Second, if the data set is in a test CICS region, probably CECI could be used. I've used CECI to read a VSAM KSDS record, change it, and rewrite it. As long as you are not changing the key, this is possible as long as you have the requisite security access.
Anil
Registered Member

Post by Anil »

Robert Sample wrote: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:28 amFirst, it would be a very rare site that allows a programmer to manually edit a production data set -- auditors really do not like such things happening.

Second, if the data set is in a test CICS region, probably CECI could be used. I've used CECI to read a VSAM KSDS record, change it, and rewrite it. As long as you are not changing the key, this is possible as long as you have the requisite security access.