How to copy 10 records from.

File-AID from Compuware and File Manager from IBM.
Post Reply
daniel
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 1:51 pm

How to copy 10 records from.

Post by daniel »

Is there an online or batch way of copying 50 records from a file having 100K records to another file using file-aid? File are sequential in nature.
enrico-sorichetti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 825
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:57 pm

Re: How to copy 10 records from.

Post by enrico-sorichetti »

using file-aid
if You do not know how, why did You chose fileaid ?
a sort solution might be simpler
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort 8-)
User avatar
Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1885
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:22 am
Location: Dubuque Iowa
United States of America

Re: How to copy 10 records from.

Post by Robert Sample »

Is there an online or batch way of copying 50 records from a file having 100K records to another file using file-aid?
Yes. Why don't you read the manuals to find out how?
enrico-sorichetti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 825
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:57 pm

Re: How to copy 10 records from.

Post by enrico-sorichetti »

the TS is pretty wishy washy in expressing his requirements
the tile tells 10 records, the post text tells 50,
lets make a deal halfway, 30 looks like a good number :mrgreen:
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort 8-)
William Collins
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 490
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 7:24 pm

Re: How to copy 10 records from.

Post by William Collins »

With SORT it is:

Code: Select all

 OPTION COPY,STOPAFT=yournumberhere
nicc
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 691
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 8:45 pm

Re: How to copy 10 records from.

Post by nicc »

Do you want the first n records, the last n records or n records from various parts of the dataset?
Regards
Nic
daniel
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 1:51 pm

Re: How to copy 10 records from.

Post by daniel »

I need to this using file-aid as we per the standards we are following. I need first 10 records to be copied.
William Collins
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 490
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 7:24 pm

Re: How to copy 10 records from.

Post by William Collins »

Well, I'm sure someone there can tell you how to do it then. You certainly should have access to the documentation and it sounds like a very simple task.
enrico-sorichetti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 825
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:57 pm

Re: How to copy 10 records from.

Post by enrico-sorichetti »

the usual stupidity in setting the requirements.

defining the tool to be used without checking if the skill needed is there. :evil:
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort 8-)
User avatar
Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2799
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:
India

Re: How to copy 10 records from.

Post by Anuj Dhawan »

Hi,

Getting familiar with documentation will help you long way. However, for the current question, there are two ways of doing it:
  1. If you want to do it in batch, use the following control cards:

    Code: Select all

    //STEPCOPY EXEC PGM=FILEAID 
    //DD01     DD DSN=T1300AD.INPUT1,DISP=SHR 
    //DD01O    DD DSN=T1300AD.OUTPUT1,DISP=OLD 
    //SYSOUT   DD SYSOUT=* 
    //SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=* 
    //SYSLIST  DD SYSOUT=* 
    //SYSTOTAL DD SYSOUT=* 
    //SYSIN    DD * 
    $$DD01  COPY OUT=10
    /*
    //*
    This is explained in this thread http://www.zmainframes.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=57 too.
  2. If you want to do it in on-line file-aid, follow these steps:
    • a. Once you are in your file-aid panel, open the file that you want to copy records into. Type F2 on the command line an press enter. This will open another editor window for you.

      b. Next, open the file you want to copy records 'FROM. Use the C line command to select the records you want to copy and then type CUT on the command line, then press ENTER. Once all the records you wanted are selected, type RETURN on the command line and press enter - you'll return back to original edit window.

      c. Use ISPF commands to paste before or after, type A (for after) or B (for before) line commands, to indicate where you want to insert the copied rows. Type PASTE on the command line and press enter. You're done.
Hope this helps.
Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.
Post Reply

Create an account or sign in to join the discussion

You need to be a member in order to post a reply

Create an account

Not a member? register to join our community
Members can start their own topics & subscribe to topics
It’s free and only takes a minute

Register

Sign in

Return to “File-AID and IBM File Manager.”