Is mainframe a server or different ?

Other Mainframe related questions which attracts you and there is no suitable Forum you find for it and related FAQs.
Niraj Kumar

Is mainframe a server or different ?

Post by Niraj Kumar »

Hi,

I'm new to mainframes but more I read about it, more or less it sounds like a Server but if it is a server, why it is called mainframes? Can you please your thoughts on this?
enrico-sorichetti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Is mainframe a server or different ?

Post by enrico-sorichetti »

You are confusing the what it is with the what it does/how it is used

I have two PCs, and the FTP/HTTP servers are running on both of them,
they both could be called servers but they still are just two good old plain PCs
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort 8-)
Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
United States of America

Post by Robert Sample »

The mainframe has been called a mainframe for more than 60 years -- long before anyone even conceived of servers.
Niraj Kumar

Post by Niraj Kumar »

Thanks.

When we talk about data-centres and serves the context of server becomes clear but someone from open-system world asks the question what is mainframe compared to a server what answer can be given...this is where I am coming from.
Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
United States of America

Post by Robert Sample »

A mainframe is a large computer system with redundant internal engineering, extensive I/O facilities, high utilization rates, and strict backwards compatibility with older software. Mainframes can run multiple server instances simultaneously (dozens or hundreds of them). Mainframes use proprietary operating systems (such as z/OS, z/VM, z/TPX) and the architecture of the hardware is very different than Windows / Unix servers.