Qualification for Enterprise Architect?

Share a quote, a general thought, jokes or one liners here.
Prakash Jha
Registered Member

Qualification for Enterprise Architect?

Post by Prakash Jha »

Hi,

I'm a mainframe programmer and has worked as Application Architect at times but though never was given that designation. I had been searching all around that how can I become an Enterprise Architect given that I come from the back ground of core mainframe?

Can I ever thought to become a CTO also? Question is will a mainframe background be hindrance or advantage?

If this is an off topic please leave it open and don't lock the topic as I think some time someone will have some input.
Prakash Jha
Registered Member

Re: Qualification for Enterprise Architect?

Post by Prakash Jha »

I looked that this topic http://zmainframes.com/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=2549, it gives some information though some of your good experience might help.
Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
United States of America

Post by Robert Sample »

how can I become an Enterprise Architect given that I come from the back ground of core mainframe?
From my answer you quoted:
Find a job advertisement for the job you want. Compare what the company is looking for to your skill set. Start filling in the gaps. As already pointed out, what you want to do is not a standard job title so be aware that the next job description you look at may have completely different requirements. But over time, as you fill in gaps, you should be able to move towards the job you want.
Architect jobs do NOT have any standard definition at this point (compared to, say programming jobs) -- so your guess is as good as mine for what is required to qualify for such a position. Looking at market job descriptions at least gives you an idea what companies are looking for.
will a mainframe background be hindrance or advantage?