What do "DEFINE CLUSTER" and "zfsadm format" mean?

Linux on System z, Linux on zSeries, Linux/390, zLinux, z/Linux, z/VM & UNIX Shell services. IBM OS/360, OS/370, MVS, OS/390, TPF, VM/CMS, VM/ESA, VSE/ESA, z/VSE, z/OS.
demecarv
Registered Member

What do "DEFINE CLUSTER" and "zfsadm format" mean?

Post by demecarv »

I am very new to Mainframe world and I need to support certain application which is published in DEV Mainframe and Prod Mainframe. Obviously, I can't move files from my PC to Prod so I need to move them from Dev Mainframe to Prod Mainframe. I am studying certain JCL script left by someone very experienced in Mainframe. The script is compound by many calls to shell scripts. After certain excellent help I received from other thread in this forum, I finally could found the scripts and most of them are very easy to understand for who has worked with Linux as java developer. Unfortunately, at the very begin there are two Shell commands that I am lost. I guess, but I am not sure, that "DEFINE CLUSTER" and "zfsadm format" is used here in order to set up a "temporary channel" between Dev Mainframe and Prod Mainframe (if I was in windows, I would say map a drive or map a folder from other server). I guessed this because I can see that the next step mount it. All commands below are ran in Prod called by certain JCL script.
From ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter I read:
DEFINE CLUSTER -> defines an entry-sequenced cluster that is used as a VVDS
zfsadm format -> Formats a VSAM linear data set as a zFS aggregate
Certainly, I missed basic knowledge and I just started to read "Introduction to the New Mainframe z/OS Basics" but I need to speed up my learning process. A basic explanation about the code below and an overview about VVDS, VSAM and zFS will help me to jump to the right topics.

1st:

Code: Select all

DELETE OMVS.SrvA.Dev.MyApp.TEMP.ZFS CLUSTER PURGE
IF LASTCC=8 THEN IF MAXCC=8 THEN SET MAXCC=0
DEFINE CLUSTER (NAME('OMVS.SrvA.Dev.MyApp.TEMP.ZFS') -