SYSPRINT to a Dataset, TK4

Hercules, z390, zCOBOL, CBT Tape Files.
Post Reply
User avatar
jeffmt_2684
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:00 am

SYSPRINT to a Dataset, TK4

Post by jeffmt_2684 »

I am practicing Assembly language with Hercules/TK4 and I am trying to figure out the proper way to print the job output to a dataset and creating a new member within it.

I have come across a few different hits on this with Google, but when I try some of the examples, I keep getting JCL errors.

within the JCL for outputting to a dataset.

What is the correct way to define the definitions needed to output to a dataset defined like so:

RF = FB
LRL = 80
PBS = 800

Allocation Space Unit = T
Primary Space Qty = 10
Secondary Space = 5
Number of Directory Blocks = 20.

This is my current working JCL:

Code: Select all

//HERC01O JOB ,'TEST',MSGCLASS=H,
//*
//STEP1  EXEC PGM=ASSIST
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSIN DD *  
User avatar
jeffmt_2684
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:00 am

Re: SYSPRINT to a Dataset, TK4

Post by jeffmt_2684 »

Using:
https://www.tutorialspoint.com/jcl/jcl_dd_statement.htm

I was able to print to a non-partitioned dataset I created using this

Code: Select all

//HERC01O JOB ,'TEST',MSGCLASS=H,
//*
//STEP1  EXEC PGM=ASSIST
//SYSPRINT  DD  DSN=HERC01.TEST.JOB,DISP=(OLD,CATLG)
//SYSIN DD * 
But how do I set it up to print to a partitioned dataset, creating a new member each time?

Also, there is some ASSIST heading information in the job output missing that I would normally see when printing using

Code: Select all

/SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
Any ideas? Thanks!
nicc
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 691
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 8:45 pm

Re: SYSPRINT to a Dataset, TK4

Post by nicc »

You would need to allocate a PDS with the same attributes as HERC01.TEST.JOB (except that it would be a PDS and not a sequential data set).

Blind Bambi about the missing info.
Regards
Nic
Post Reply

Create an account or sign in to join the discussion

You need to be a member in order to post a reply

Create an account

Not a member? register to join our community
Members can start their own topics & subscribe to topics
It’s free and only takes a minute

Register

Sign in

Return to “Hercules, z390, zCOBOL, CBT Tape Files.”