How to FTP down SYSOUT

Other Mainframe related questions which attracts you and there is no suitable Forum you find for it and related FAQs.
Post Reply
Peter
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:07 pm

How to FTP down SYSOUT

Post by Peter »

Is there any way to ftp down to a PC, the SYSOUT that are made on the mainframe, showing status of a JOB?
I am able to ftp, down other stuff from the mainframe, but I do not know where the SYSOUT are saved?
Any help?
Br
Peter Schwennesen
User avatar
Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2802
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:
India

Re: How to FTP down SYSOUT

Post by Anuj Dhawan »

Hello Peter and welcome to the Forums,

With the information in hand, I can think of two ways -
  • 1. Get the SYSOUT into a dataset, FTP the dataset just like any 'other stuff' you did before. To get the SYSOUT in to a dataset, you've two choices, at least:
    • a. You can use XDC to copy the SYSOUT to a dataset of your choice.
      b. In case, your existing code is as follows://SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=* - change this code to as per this:

      Code: Select all

      //SYSOUT DD DSN=...file.for.ftp, 
      //           DISP=(,CATLG,DELETE),                      
      //           SPACE=(CYL,(xx,xx),RLSE),                
      //*             
      
    and FTP the file named file.for.ftp.

    2. if You have a FTP client on your workstation and your organization allows it, You can use something along the lines of:

    Code: Select all

    [abcduser@abcduser.local]$ftp xxx.xxx
    Connected to xxx.xxx
    220-FTPD1 IBM FTP CS V1Rxx at xxxxxxxx.xxxxxxxx.xxxx, 17:23:25 on 2014-10-28.
    220 Connection will close if idle for more than 5 minutes.
    Name (xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:xxuser): xxuser
    331 Send password please.
    Password: 
    230 ABCDUSER is logged on.  Working directory is "ABCDUSER.".
    Remote system type is MVS.
    ftp> quote site filetype=jes
    200 SITE command was accepted
    ftp> ls
    229 Entering Extended Passive Mode (|||1027|)
    125 List started OK
    XXUSER1   JOB01234  OUTPUT    4 Spool Files                             
    XXUSER1   JOB04567  OUTPUT    4 Spool Files                             
    250 List completed successfully.
    ftp> get job01234 
    local: job01234 remote: job01234
    229 Entering Extended Passive Mode (|||1028|)
    125 Sending all spool files for requested Jobid
      7343       45.25 KiB/s 
    250 Transfer completed successfully.
    7343 bytes received in 00:00 (45.25 KiB/s)
    ftp> quit
    221 Quit command received. Goodbye.
    [abcduser@xxuser.local]$ls
    job01234
    [abcduser@xxuser.local]$
Hope this helps.
Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.
Peter
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:07 pm

Re: How to FTP down SYSOUT

Post by Peter »

Hi Anuj
Thanks for quick reply. I am sorry, but my knowledge about host and mainframe are very limited.
When I now make a SYSOUT I run the following code:

Code: Select all

//PES750  JOB 350013,'XB',CLASS=D,MSGCLASS=A,          
//             COND=(0,LT)                             
//XBAP750  EXEC XBAP750,OUT=R,J=                       
//XB01K.SYSUT1 DD *                                    
TQDG1190                                               
//XB21.XBBINP DD  DSN=XB.PRST.XBBXB10.G0001V00,DISP=SHR
//            DD  DSN=XB.PRST.XBBXB10.G0002V00,DISP=SHR
//            DD  DSN=XB.PRST.XBBXB10.G0003V00,DISP=SHR
//            DD  DSN=XB.PRST.XBBXB10.G0004V00,DISP=SHR
//            DD  DSN=XB.PRST.XBBXB10.G0005V00,DISP=SHR
//            DD  DSN=XB.PRST.XBBXB10.G0006V00,DISP=SHR
Where TQDG1190 is the Job from witch I need a SYSOUT.

I tried to do something like:

Code: Select all

//PES750  JOB 350013,'XB',CLASS=D,MSGCLASS=A,          
//             COND=(0,LT)                             
//XBAP750  EXEC XBAP750,OUT=R,J=                       
//XB01K.SYSUT1 DD *                                    
//SYSOUT DD DSN=PS03EPP.PDS.AAA, 
//          DISP=(,CATLG,DELETE),                      
//          SPACE=(CYL,(2300,1000),RLSE),                
TQDG1190                                               
//XB21.XBBINP DD  DSN=XB.PRST.XBBXB10.G0001V00,DISP=SHR
//            DD  DSN=XB.PRST.XBBXB10.G0002V00,DISP=SHR
//            DD  DSN=XB.PRST.XBBXB10.G0003V00,DISP=SHR
//            DD  DSN=XB.PRST.XBBXB10.G0004V00,DISP=SHR
//            DD  DSN=XB.PRST.XBBXB10.G0005V00,DISP=SHR
//            DD  DSN=XB.PRST.XBBXB10.G0006V00,DISP=SHR
Where PS03EPP.PAD is a “Area” from where I can Ftp up and down to. I tried the just name the dataset “AAA”. But this code is not running.
Do you have any ide what is wrong? Can you give my any good ide to how to make such code run?
Br
Peter Schwennesen
Last edited by Anuj Dhawan on Wed Oct 29, 2014 1:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added BBCode Tags.
User avatar
Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2802
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:
India

Re: How to FTP down SYSOUT

Post by Anuj Dhawan »

It's tough to help this way. Though I'll try to make an educated guess if you post the content of the Job TQDG1190?
Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.
Peter
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:07 pm

Re: How to FTP down SYSOUT

Post by Peter »

Hi Anuj
I think you misunderstood.
I run the code:

Code: Select all

//PES750  JOB 350013,'XB',CLASS=D,MSGCLASS=A,          
//             COND=(0,LT)                             
//XBAP750  EXEC XBAP750,OUT=R,J=                       
//XB01K.SYSUT1 DD *                                    
TQDG1190                                               
//XB21.XBBINP DD  DSN=XB.PRST.XBBXB10.G0001V00,DISP=SHR
//            DD  DSN=XB.PRST.XBBXB10.G0002V00,DISP=SHR
//            DD  DSN=XB.PRST.XBBXB10.G0003V00,DISP=SHR
//            DD  DSN=XB.PRST.XBBXB10.G0004V00,DISP=SHR
//            DD  DSN=XB.PRST.XBBXB10.G0005V00,DISP=SHR
//            DD  DSN=XB.PRST.XBBXB10.G0006V00,DISP=SHR
This code generates a sysout with the name of PES750

It is the PES750 SYSOUT that I like to be able to get down with FTP.

It would be very nice to know how to put this PES750 SYSOUT in my dataset PES03EPP.PES where from I can download with FTP.

Hope you understand.
Br
Peter Schwennesen
Last edited by Anuj Dhawan on Wed Oct 29, 2014 2:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added BBcode Tags.
User avatar
Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2802
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:
India

Re: How to FTP down SYSOUT

Post by Anuj Dhawan »

Peter - let's add the pieces of information from different posts of yours:
  • 1. You showed a job which executes a PROC XBAP750.
    2. You pass TQDG1190 to the above PROC as an in-stream data using //XB01K.SYSUT1 DD *.
    3. You later said:
    Where TQDG1190 is the Job from witch I need a SYSOUT.
With all that in mind, if we could see the Job TQDG1190, I thought, I could tell how to override the SYSOUT for this Job. However, looks like this is not what you mean.

Now, with your latest post - when you say:
This code generates a sysout with the name of PES750

It is the PES750 SYSOUT that I like to be able to get down with FTP.
could you please tell how do you locate the PES750 SYSOUT on mainframes? This might help you get an answer.
Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.
Peter
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:07 pm

Re: How to FTP down SYSOUT

Post by Peter »

Hi Anuj
I can do it in two ways,

Either with ROSCOE:
Here I write OUTPUT and then I get a list of SYSOUT that I can open and browse in the terminal.

Or I can use TSO
Where I have a menu system where I jump trought
SYSVIEW > listing “System activity and output viewing”
MENU SDSF > lisitng ”SDSF migration menu”
JOBSUM > “Display status of jobs in the JES queues”
In this menu I can write the name PES750 and then I get listed the content of the SYSOUT.
It is some Job Status list.

Does this make any sense to you?
Br
Peter Schwennesen
User avatar
Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2802
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:
India

Re: How to FTP down SYSOUT

Post by Anuj Dhawan »

Peter wrote:Or I can use TSO
Where I have a menu system where I jump trought
SYSVIEW > listing “System activity and output viewing”
MENU SDSF > lisitng ”SDSF migration menu”
JOBSUM > “Display status of jobs in the JES queues”
In this menu I can write the name PES750 and then I get listed the content of the SYSOUT.
It is some Job Status list.
Once you are there - can you please post what you see on the screen?

PS.: XDC should work here mostly, but seeing what you see can help better.
Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.
Peter
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:07 pm

Re: How to FTP down SYSOUT

Post by Peter »

Hi Anuj
In TSO the screen looks like this. Here is an example where the SYSOUT has the name SSCH750
I have attached af fil.
br
Peter Schwennesen
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2802
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:
India

Re: How to FTP down SYSOUT

Post by Anuj Dhawan »

In TSO - locate PES750, under the "cmd", write "XDC" and press the enter key. This will prompt you to a new window which should look like this:

Code: Select all

Data set name ===> 'dataset.name.for.ftp' 
Member to use ===> 
Disposition ===> NEW (OLD, NEW, SHR, MOD) 

If the data set is to be created, specify the following. 
Volume serial will be used to locate existing data sets if specified. 

Management class ===> (Blank for default management class) 
Storage class ===> (Blank for default storage class) 
Volume serial ===> (Blank for authorized default volume) 
Device type ===> (Generic unit or device address) 
Data class ===> (Blank for default data class) 
Space units ===> CYLS (BLKS, TRKS, CYLS, BY, KB, or MB) 
Primary quantity ===> 10 (In above units) 
Secondary quantity ===> 5 (In above units) 
Directory blocks ===> (Zero for sequential data set) 
Record format ===> FB 
Record length ===> 133 
If you're seeing this screen first time, the values will not be "auto filled" in, however, the good news is that - you don't need to fill in all the values and default will be taken. However you've to fill in the name of the data-set here in Data set name ===>', and 'keep Disposition ===>' as NEW. For other values try to make use of the values shown in above example and see what happens.
Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.
Peter
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:07 pm

Re: How to FTP down SYSOUT

Post by Peter »

Hi Anuj
I get another view please see attached picture.
If I write PS03EPP.PDS at "Dataset Name" and "Member Name" : PS002, then I get a PS002 in my area.
And I was able to ftp this down to my PC.
is it possible to automate this a litte so that I do not need to step trought all this manues every time?
btw. is I try to do this "copy" one more time a get an error that says: GSVX090E Dataset in use - PS03EPP.PDS
br
Peter Schwennesen
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2802
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:
India

Re: How to FTP down SYSOUT

Post by Anuj Dhawan »

Peter wrote:is it possible to automate this a litte so that I do not need to step trought all this manues every time?
I don't know a way to automate XDC but then XDC is meant to be a line command.

You can use 'SDSF in batch' . And for that you've to write a small Job. You execute the Job and get the details from spool to a PDS member. Please NOTE it's NOT SYSOUT, as you've termed it initially. Terminology is critical in IT and if you'd not use it correctly it adds a lot of confusion. OTOH, if you need help with "SDSF in batch", I can help you with that. This might help you to some extent, if FTPing is a regular work for you.
is I try to do this "copy" one more time a get an error that says: GSVX090E Dataset in use - PS03EPP.PDS
Try to use Disposition= SHR instead of OLD and see if the error still persists.
Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.
Peter
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:07 pm

Re: How to FTP down SYSOUT

Post by Peter »

Hi Anuj
Yes, Terminology is critical, I know. Problem is that I am taking about things here that I have no knowledge about at all, I do my best!
If you can help with SDSF, then it would be great, however I have absolutely no idea about what it is! But if it can help then …
I have to make some trouble shooting now with the “SysOut” that I got down, I will return later.
Thanks for the help so far.
Br
Peter Schwennesen
User avatar
Robert Sample
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1895
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:22 am
Location: Dubuque Iowa
United States of America

Re: How to FTP down SYSOUT

Post by Robert Sample »

If you just want to get the SYSOUT from a job through FTP, the z/OS FTP commands support SITE FILETYPE=JES which allows you to FTP job output from the mainframe. It works best if you already know which job you want to transfer the output of, but a DIR after the TYPE JES will show the available jobs, then GET will retrieve the output. Check the Communications Server bookshelf, IP User's Guide and Commands manual for the section on Interfacing with JES (it's a chapter). This can be found at http://www-03.ibm.com/systems/z/os/zos/library/bkserv/
User avatar
Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2802
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:
India

Re: How to FTP down SYSOUT

Post by Anuj Dhawan »

Peter wrote:If you can help with SDSF, then it would be great, however I have absolutely no idea about what it is! But if it can help then …
Try with below sample - you need to replace the symbolics (myjobdd, myracfid etc) with appropriate values.

Code: Select all

//BSDSF  EXEC PGM=SDSF                                        
//ISFOUT   DD SYSOUT=*                                        
//SYSUDUMP DD SYSOUT=*                                        
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*                                        
//SYSTSPRT DD SYSOUT=*                                        
//SYSOUT   DD SYSOUT=*                                        
//ISFIN    DD *                                                
 ST                                                            
 FILTER JOBID EQ JOBID                                      
 F myjobnm                                                    
 ++?                                                          
 FIND 'myjobdd'                                                  
 ++S                                                          
 PRINT ODSN 'myracfid.SDSF' * OLD                              
 PRINT 1 9999                                                  
 PRINT CLOSE                                                  
 END                                                          
 EXIT                                                          
/*  
Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.
User avatar
Anuj Dhawan
Founder
Posts: 2802
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:40 pm
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:
India

Re: How to FTP down SYSOUT

Post by Anuj Dhawan »

Hi Peter,

Code: Select all

//BSDSF  EXEC PGM=SDSF                                        
//ISFOUT   DD SYSOUT=*                                        
//SYSUDUMP DD SYSOUT=*                                        
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*                                        
//SYSTSPRT DD SYSOUT=*                                        
//SYSOUT   DD SYSOUT=*                                        
//ISFIN    DD *                                                
 ST                                                            
 FILTER JOBID EQ JOB0xxxx                                      
 F myjobnm                                                    
 ++?                                                          
 FIND 'myjobdd'                                                  
 ++S                                                          
 PRINT ODSN 'your.pds.name(member)' * SHR                              
 PRINT 1 9999                                                  
 PRINT CLOSE                                                  
 END                                                          
 EXIT                                                          
/*
Thanks,
Anuj

Disclaimer: My comments on this website are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity, in any way.
Post Reply

Create an account or sign in to join the discussion

You need to be a member in order to post a reply

Create an account

Not a member? register to join our community
Members can start their own topics & subscribe to topics
It’s free and only takes a minute

Register

Sign in

Return to “Other Mainframe Topics, Off-Topics, FAQs.”